Advisory Council

The Older Americans Act of 1965 and its subsequent amendments provide for the establishment of a citizens’ Advisory Council to each Area Agency on Aging (AAA). The purpose of the council is to advise the AAA on all matters relating to the development and implementation of services for older adults, and guidance in the development and administration of its Area Plan.

The Area Agency on Aging and Disabilities of Southwest Washington (Area Agency) has an 18-member Advisory Council that provides input and advice to the Agency staff and makes funding and legislative recommendations to the Agency’s board. It is authorized to “review and comment” on all community policies, programs and actions with respect to older persons and adults with disabilities.

Council Meetings/Accommodation

The Advisory Council meets the third Wednesday of each month (excepting July and October) from 12:00 to 2:00 at our Vancouver office.   The public is welcome to attend the meetings which are held at the Agency. Persons with a disability and who require accommodation should notify the Administrative Coordinator (360) 735-5721 one week in advance of the meeting in order to discuss accommodations. Every effort will be made to provide reasonable accommodations.

Meeting Agendas:

Agenda for January 22, 2020 (note date change)

Agenda for December 18, 2019 (note time change)

Agenda for November 20, 2019

Agenda for September 18, 2019

Agenda for August 21, 2019 (note time and venue change)

Agenda for June 19, 2019 (note time and venue change)

Agenda for May 16, 2019 (note date and time change)

Agenda for April 17, 2019

Agenda for March 20, 2019

Agenda for February 20, 2019



Meeting Minutes:

November 20, 2019 Meeting Minutes

September 18, 2019 Meeting Minutes

August 21, 2019 Meeting Minutes

June 19, 2019 Meeting Minutes

May 16, 2019 Meeting Minutes

April 17, 2019 Meeting Minutes

March 20, 2019 Minutes

February 20, 2019 Minutes

January 16, 2019 Minutes

December 19, 2018 Minutes


The Advisory Council is composed of representatives from our five-county planning and service area:

Clark County
Beth Anderson, Vancouver
Lisa Bayautet, Vancouver
Sue Cameron, Vancouver
Pat Cano, Vancouver
Arnold Dyer, Vancouver
Carole Lewis, Vancouver

Cowlitz County
Jon Dieter, Toutle, Chair
Kathy Kyllonen, Toutle
Open Position

Klickitat County
Lanae Johnson, Goldendale
Sandra DeMent, Wahkiakus, Vice Chair
Open Position

Skamania County
Sandy Bacus, Stevenson, Secretary
Roberta Doster, Stevenson
Open Position

Wahkiakum County
Bernadette Goodroe, Cathlamet
Pearl Blackburn, Rosburg
Open Position

The Advisory Council periodically has openings for new members from the five counties served by AAADSW. If you would like to be considered, please click on the link below to complete the application, then send it to:  Community Services Manager, 201 NE 73rd Street, Vancouver, WA 98665.

Membership Application (once you have filled out the application please print and sign it, then mail it to the address above.

Not sure where to find the information you're looking for?

Read our tips on how to access the wealth of resources we offer.

Do you or a loved one live in a long term care facility? Know Your Rights!

Advocates are available to help you understand and protect your resident rights.

Read personal stories from other adults, caregivers and providers.